Juried Show Announces Accepted Artists

The 2017 Cedars Juried Show has announced the artists selected to participate in the sixth annual show on September 7.

Selections were culled from all entries received and finalists were selected solely by juror, George Bassi, director of The Lauren Rogers Museum of Art in Laurel.

Eighty-two artists representing 28 Mississippi cities (plus a former Mississippian now residing in Austin, TX) are listed according to their hometown and include:

Arcola, MS – Park Neff
Bay St. Louis, MS – Michael Ramsey
Brandon, MS – Jonathon Berry, Neely Brunt, Jeremy Cawthon, Janice Dean, Laurel Schoolar
Canton, MS – Catherine Becker, Anne Brunson, Kay Shropshire Heller
Clinton, MS – Rick Anderson, Melanie Atkinson,
Flora, MS – Sherry Hager, Victoria Ramsay
Flowood, MS – Ginger Ford Thomas, Susan Wellington
Greenville, MS – Iris Mitchell, Melanie Mitchell Tucker
Hattiesburg, MS – Barbara-Ann Carver-Hunt, Sheri Hoem, Andrea Kostyal, Betty Press, Robert Schroder
Jackson, MS – Rhonda Blasingame, Stephanie Busbea, Lisa Busby, Maureen Donnelly, Meredith
Gonzalez-Fernandez, Sabrina Hagerman, Carol Clark Hammond, Patti Henson, Erin Hovanec, Gerard Howard, Don Jacobs, Sky Miles, Lisa Paris, Bro Shambe, Mary Scott Shepherd, Lisa Shive, Larry Singleton, Art Spratlin, Guy Stone Stricklin, Mike Wharton, Ty White, Bill Wilson, Thomas Wilson
Kokomo, MS – Karen Bennett
Lauderdale, MS – Gary Howse
Lexington, MS – Barbara Parrish
Long Beach, MS – Sadako Lewis
Louisville, MS – Susan Clark
Madison, MS – Paul Canonici, Beth Dean, Betty Jo Johnson, Tom Joynt, Leslie Saucier, Gay Simpson, Randall Teasley,
Kay Watts, Fred Wiggins
Moselle, MS – Kim Whitt
Ocean Springs, MS – George Ann McCullough, Jerrod Partridge, Joey Rice, Bryant Whelan
Oxford, MS – Andrew McIntyre
Pearl, MS – Alan Creel
Pearlington, MS – Carolyn Busenlener
Petal, MS – Mike Box
Raymond, MS – David Gulledge
Ridgeland, MS – Brandon Cartwright, Susan Cobb, Ginny Futvoye, Wanda Lowery, Elaine Maisel
Starkville, MS – Laurie Burton
Summit, MS – Anna Dancsisin
Vicksburg, MS – Randy Hayward Jolly, Mary Qasim, Lesley Silver
Yazoo City, MS – Benny Melton
Austin, TX – Heidi Pitre

The categories for this year’s competition are Paintings (oil, watercolor and acrylic); Printmaking, Collage and Drawing; Photography; Mixed Media (2D works) and Art & Craft (weaving, jewelry, ceramics, sculpture and 3D work). In addition to the works being chosen by the juror for inclusion in the show as well as top honors, there will also be a “People’s Choice” honor given this year so that all art enthusiasts can take part in naming their favorite work.

An opening reception will be held September 7 from 5 to 8 p.m. at The Cedars.

The Cedars Juried Show is part of the Four Seasons of The Cedars Visual and Performing Arts Series and is free and open to the public. The exhibit hangs through September 22 and is sponsored by Jan and Lawrence Farrington and Butler Snow LLP.
© 2018, Fondren Renaissance Foundation