2017 Juried Show Winners Announced

Susan Wellington, Ginger Thomas, Sadako Lewis, Kim Whitt, Carolyn Busenlener, Randy H Jolly, Maureen Donnelly – Best of Show, Larry Singelton, Melanie Tucker, Sky Miles, Lisa Shive, Tom Joynt, Mike Wharton, Thomas Wilson and Betty Press. Not pictured: Ann Brunson, Carol Clark Hammond and Andrew McIntyre.

Congratulations to our 6th annual Cedars Juried Show award winners, chosen during the opening reception of the show on Thursday.

Awards were given in multiple categories and include:

Best of Show – Maureen Donnelly – “Pearl’s Cafe”

Mixed Media 
1st place – Randy Jolly, “Ghost Armadillo”
Honorable Mention – Ginger Thomas – “Sail Away”
Honorable Mention – Sodako Lewis – “Whisper”

Arts & Craft
1st Place – Andrew McIntyre – cup and saucer
Honorable Mention – Kim Whitt – “Forest Bathing”
Honorable Mention – Anne Brunson – “Natural Wonders”

1st Place – Thomas Wilson – “Mississippi River View”
2nd place – Carolyn Busenlener – “Forgotten, Remembered”
Honorable Mention – Larry Singleton – “Mama”
Honorable Mention – Lisa Shive – “Sausilito Dusk”
Honorable Mention – Carol Clark Hammond – “Off My Rocker”

Printmaking, Drawing, Pastel
1st Place – Mike Wharton – “Love Letters”
Honorable Mention – Melanie Mitchell Tucker – “Bottle in Mississippi”
Honorable Mention – Susan Wellington – “Back to the Barn”

1st Place – Tom Joynt – “Daydreamer”
Honorable Mention – Sky Miles – “5th Season”
Honorable Mention – Betty Press – “Oh, Tiptoes”

People’s Choice
1st Place – Neely Brunt
2nd Place – Mike Wharton
3rd Place – Beth Green Dean

Selections were culled from all entries received and finalists were selected solely by juror, George Bassi, director of The Lauren Rogers Museum of Art in Laurel.

Eighty-two artists representing 28 Mississippi cities (plus a former Mississippian now residing in Austin, TX) were chosen for the show.

The Cedars Juried Show is part of the Four Seasons of The Cedars Visual and Performing Arts Series and is free and open to the public. The exhibit hangs through September 22, Tuesday – Friday, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m., and is sponsored by Jan and Lawrence Farrington and Butler Snow LLP.

© 2018, Fondren Renaissance Foundation