2016 Cedars Juried Show Winners Announced


Several winners of our 2016 Cedars Juried Art Show took time for a photo. They are Wanda Lowery, what is ed Anne Brunson Susan Clark, this Fred Wiggins, viagra 40mg Gay Simpson, Rebecca Cupples, Juror Dr. Gore, Randall Teasley and Martin Arnold.

We are pleased to announce the winners in our 5th annual Cedars Juried Art Show after an opening reception at The Cedars on Thursday, September 1.

This year’s adjudication, conducted by sculptor and Mississippi College professor Dr. Samuel M.Gore, included three categories including:

First place: Fred Wiggins, “Country Store”
Second place: Randall Teasley, “Mr. Car Wash, Meridian, MS”
Honorable Mention: Randall Teasley, “Richard Kelso Studio #1”

Mixed Media (includes sculpture, jewelry, porcelain, clay, wood):
First place: Ann Brunson, “All Dressed Up (Fairy Godmother” (necklace)
Second place: Rebecca Cupples, “Woodstock Memories” (1969 VW fender)
Honorable Mention: Susan Clark, “Opening Night” (clay figurines in setting)

Painting & Drawing:
First place: Paul Fayard, “Three Sisters”
Second place: Martin Arnold, “Gypsy”
Third place: Wanda Lowery, “Thundering Hooves”
Honorable Mention: Gay Simpson, “Chinatown”

Honorable Mention: Becky Pate, “Tony”

Of 123 artists who submitted entries, 73 work were selected from 65 artists representing 20 different Mississippi cities and one out of state entry (previous winner and Mississippian Heidi Pitre).

The free exhibition will hang through September 23. Gallery hours are Tuesday through Friday, 10am – 4pm. The show is sponsored by art enthusiasts Jan and Lawrence Farrington and Butler Snow, LLP

© 2018, Fondren Renaissance Foundation